Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Us
Site Search
Legal Flash
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (913) posts »

Dean Erwin Chemerinsky to Address Local Attorneys and Judges at Annual Judges’ Night on November 10

Posted By Paula Collis, Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Outstanding Jurist of the Year Awarded to the Honorable Stephen V. Manley, Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara


San Jose, CA (November 3, 2015) ‐ The Santa Clara County Bar Association, Silicon Valley’s largest lawyers’ association, will hold its annual Judges’ Night Dinner on November 10, 2015, at the Fairmont Hotel in San Jose. This annual event hosted by the  Association honors both the  state and federal judges in Santa Clara County and highlights the cooperative, close working relationships of attorneys and judges in advancing the administration of justice for the county’s citizens. More information and ticketing can be found at

The Outstanding Jurist Award will be awarded to the Honorable Stephen V. Manley, Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara.  Judge Manley is a graduate of Stanford Law School and has served as a judge for over 30 years. He presently serves as the Supervising Judge of all Felony and Misdemeanor mental health and drug cases in the Criminal Division of the Court. He developed and personally presides over a number of Treatment Court programs and calendars, that include more than 2,300 offenders who participate in treatment and rehabilitation services while on Probation, or Parole, who are mentally ill, mentally challenged, and substance abusers. He established one of the first Mental Health Courts in the Nation in 1998, one of the first Veterans Treatment Courts in 2012 as well as the first Parolee Reentry Court in California. The Mental Health Treatment Court is the largest in the Nation. He advocates for the creation and expansion of mental health courts, reentry courts and drug courts and evidence-based practices in working with the mentally ill and substance abusers in our Courts, as well as Legislative change and sentencing reform.

Judge James E. Towery, Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara,  will be accepting the Diversity Award on behalf of the current and past chairs of the Bay Area Minority Summer Clerkship Program (BAMSCP) . This award was established to highlight  the critical importance of a diverse and representative legal profession in securing vigorous advocacy for clients and credibility to the justice system. The recipient of the Diversity Award demonstrates long-term commitment to promoting diversity within the legal profession.

The Professional Lawyer of the Year Award will be presented to Richard Konda of the Asian Law Alliance. The recipient of this honor is an active, respected practitioner of the law who is chosen by their peers as an example of  unimpeachable character and who serves as an embodiment of  the standards set forth in the SCCBA Code of Professionalism and as a role model for other attorneys  practicing in Santa Clara County.

The Keynote Speaker addressing the  judges and guests will be Dean Erwin Chemerinsky.  Erwin Chemerinsky is the founding Dean and Distinguished Professor of Law, and Raymond Pryke Professor of First Amendment Law, at UC Irvine School of Law, with a joint appointment in Political Science. Prior to assuming this position in 2008, he was the Alston and Bird Professor of Law and Political Science at Duke University from 2004-2008, and before that was a professor at the University of Southern California Law School from 1983-2004, including as the Sydney M. Irmas Professor of Public Interest Law, Legal Ethics, and Political Science.  He is the author of eight books, including The Case Against the Supreme Court, published by Viking in 2014, and more than 200 law review articles. He frequently argues appellate cases, including in the United States Supreme Court.  Dean Chemerinsky is a graduate of Northwestern University and Harvard Law School.  In 2014, National Jurist magazine named Dean Chemerinsky as the most influential person in legal education in the United States.

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
more Latest News
more Calendar

IP Year in Review

Recent Recognitions
Mariel BlockBarrister of the Year 2016
Richard KondaProfessional Lawyer of the Year 2015

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal