LOS ANGELES — County officials gathered today to mark the reopening of the long-shuttered downtown Hall of Justice.
District Attorney Jackie Lacey and county Supervisors Michael Antonovich, Don Knabe, Gloria Molina, Mark Ridley-Thomas and Zev Yaroslavsky joined Interim Sheriff John Scott to dedicate the new home of the Sheriff’s Department and District Attorney’s Office.
Built in 1925, the iconic beaux arts structure sits across the street from the criminal courthouse and on a diagonal from City Hall. The exterior granite of the 14-story building has been cleaned from gray to gleaming ivory and the marble grand lobby and multistory loggia have also been restored.
Read the whole story at Los Angeles Daily News.